The Pretenders share new single, ‘Let The Sun Come In’

Virgin Radio

11 May 2023, 11:31

The Pretenders

Credit: Getty

There's an update on their coming album 'Relentless' too.

The Pretenders have unveiled the first single, ‘Let The Sun Come In’, to be taken from their hotly anticipated new album, Relentless.

The upcoming record, their 12th studio LP, is the follow-up to the groups acclaimed 2020 album, ‘Hate For Sale’. The band hinted at this new release earlier this year, but today (May 11th) confirmed that Relentless will officially drop on September 1st via Parlophone.

According to the band, the new album captures the band's vibe in 2023, echoing the same “impulsiveness” and “attitude” that charmed fans in past hits such as ‘I’ll Stand By You’ and ‘Back On The Chain Gang’. Chrissie Hynde, the band’s frontwoman, explained the meaning behind the album title, stating, “I liked the definition: ‘showing no abatement of intensity.’ It’s the life of the artist. You never retire. You become relentless.”

Listen to 'Let The Sun Come In' below.

Relentless is the second album written as a collaboration between Hynde and the band’s guitarist James Walbourne. It's also the first to be released via Warner Brothers, the parent company of Parlophone, since 1999. Talking about the process of songwriting for the album, Hynde said, “We had developed this method of working remotely and it seemed like we just kept on doing it for this album. This is something that we’ve honed down to an art in the last few years.”

One of the surprises on Relentless is a long-awaited collaboration with respected composer Jonny Greenwood (Radiohead, The Smile) on the album’s final track ‘I Think About You Daily’.

Tomorrow night (May 12th), The Pretenders will be performing the live debut of ‘Let The Sun Come In’ as they headline Brighton’s Great Escape Festival. The band also hinted that they will be unveiling other new singles from the forthcoming album during their performance.

Here is the track-listing for the coming album.

1. ‘Losing My Sense Of Taste’

2. ‘A Love’

3. ‘Domestic Silence’

4. ‘The Copa’

5. ‘Promise Of Love’

6. ‘Merry Widow’

7. ‘Let The Sun Come In’

8. ‘Look Away’

9. ‘Your House Is On Fire’

10. ‘Just Let It Go’

11. ‘Vainglorious’

12. ‘I Think About You Daily’