Iggy Pop pays tribute to the late Taylor Hawkins

Virgin Radio

4 Dec 2022, 09:58

Credit: Getty

The Foo Fighters drummer passed away in March this year.

Iggy Pop has paid tribute to late Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins, who recorded drum tracks for two songs on the forthcoming Every Loser album, ahead of his tragic death in March.

Ever Loser contains a string of guests besides Hawkins. Also featured are Guns N' Roses bassist Duff McKagan, Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith, Jane's Addiction duo Dave Navarro and Eric Avery, Pearl Jam's Stone Gossard, as well as Blink-182's Travis Barker.

The cast of players were recruited by producer Andrew Watt to play on the record. The album is scheduled for a January 2023 release on Watt's new label Gold Tooth Records.

“Taylor came in with incredible style,” Pop told NME. “I’m very fortunate to have that colour on the record. I was really sad and shocked to hear about him. I happened to know that hotel where he was. I’ve stayed in that town. The whole thing was something else. He did have a wonderful career doing what he wanted to do, and by all accounts, a good life.”

He continued, “He drums up a storm on those tracks, and you can really hear it. He has this sort of bubbling quality, it’s really percolating.”

Iggy offered praise in the same interview to Italian rockers Måneskin. The 75 year old guested on the Eurovision winners 2021 re-make of I Wanna Be Your Slave.

“That’s a really strong band,” said Iggy. “Damiano [David] is an amazing singer and the bass player, Victoria [de Angelis] really handles that position well and doesn’t overplay, but on stage and in their videos, she really stays with the message. Wooo, she’s a firecracker.”

He added, “I read an interview that said they started out busking on the street in Rome and had to fight other groups for good positions. You can tell they have that background, that they’ve done something together where they got a little taste of poverty and obscurity, and I think that gives them a really nice edge.”

For the full interview go to NME.com

Iggy Pop's 'Every Loser' album is scheduled for release on January 6th. The album's first single, 'Frenzy', is out now.