Manic Street Preachers release playlist full of ‘heartfelt musical tribute’ covers

Virgin Radio

5 Jul 2022, 12:54

Manic Street Preachers

Credit: Getty

Anyone missing fresh new music from Manic Street Preachers can dig into this.

The Welsh rockers have just released a brand new playlist featuring cover versions recorded from across their careers. 

The 37-track collection, titled Sleep Next To Plastic, also has a number of lost recordings, B-sides and album tracks, as well as songs previously unavailable on streaming services. 

Sleep Next To Plastic contains the band’s recent take on Madonna’s track Borderline, which they recorded back in March. 

Rihanna’s Umbrella, The Cure’s In Between Days and Sweet Child O’Mine by Guns and Roses also make the collection.

In a statement (via NME), the Manics said: “Cover versions have always offered us a chance to pay direct, public tribute to records we grew up obsessing over, be that C86 bands or artists as diverse as Madonna, John Cale and Paul Robeson. 

“Collectively, these covers are a heartfelt musical tribute to our formative influences.”

It’s not the first time the iconic band has released a playlist. They dropped a Duets album of tracks recorded between 1992-2021. 

I Live Through These Moments Again And Again: The Duets 1992 – 2021 is made up of guest duets from 1992's Generation Terrorists through to their most recent The Ultra Vivid Lament and includes a live recording of Let Robeson Sing plus a re-recording of Spectators Of Suicide from 1991's You Love Us.

They wrote on social media: "I Live Through These Moments Again and Again: The Duets, is the first in a series of band-curated playlists, featuring duets from the Manics’ 1992 debut right up to 'The Ultra Vivid Lament' alongside a number of rare collaborations."

Meanwhile, The Proclaimers just announced they’re teaming up with Manics guitarist and singer James Dean Bradfield. 

He plays on the title track, as well as the reportedly Bond theme-esque, 'Things As They Are'.